Did you know that of the 55 people honored so far for the ESA Founders' Memorial Award since 1958, only one woman has been memorialized (quick, Linnaean Games question here!) and just three women have presented Founders Award Lectures.  Find out who has been so honored in the past.  

There is now a call for nominations for the 2014 Founders' Award. Surely there are women deserving of being memorialized (think of the Great Women in Entomology article from our 2011 symposium) and/or women to nominate to present a lecture honoring a great entomologist of the past.

Maria Sibylla Merian (1647-1717)

Eleanor Anne Ormerod (1828-1901)

Anna Botsford Comstock (1854-1930)

Dame Miriam Louisa Rothschild (1908-2005)

Dorothy Feir (1929-2008)

Manya Stoetzel (1940-2010)

All of these women (and there are no doubt others) have made the eligibility requirements for the award; have YOU or someone you know met the requirements of the presenter of the memorial lecture? Let's make the effort to increase nominations for this award.  Did you know that from 2010-2012, there was only a single nomination for two of the three years; the third year had only two?  

You need to be a member of ESA Networks to add comments!

Join ESA Networks

Email me when people reply –